Good first night alone

rogersandtennysonI got home from work, opened the door and the chorus started up. Brought Tennyson outside to walk around in the grass and he peed. Came in and played with him for a bit. My son had brought the kennel into the living room (I asked him to bring it to my bedroom), so I dragged it up the stairs, got a blanket in, then let him run around more, put him in the kennel and settled in for the night. There was crying. You know when kids know exactly how many times to bug you about something before you give in? I knew I just had to beat that time and we’d be fine. After about what felt like hours, but was probably only 20 minutes we achieved sleep. And slept until 7 a.m.!

Out of my warm bed, I carried him down to the basement for doggie duty. I decided I would do this instead of going outside, mostly because I knew there was big doggie poop in the yard from last night and I didn’t want to step in it in the dark. Plus, I’m thinking, Tennyson already goes on the newspaper down there in the pen. And when I clean the pen, he goes on the papers set outside the pen . . . it worked.

Sitting with my coffee, now later and I’m going to leave the basement gate open and we’ll see if he goes down there on his own. He loves to chew on the carpet and can go up and down steps like a champ. The force is strong in this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

