Hopefully fostering again soon

As some of you may know, I haven’t fostered for almost two years. In October of 2015 I tore my right Achilles tendon, then tore the left one a few months later in January. I spent the next six months falling over. Luckily didn’t break anything. I did acupuncture all last summer which helped with the pain and circulation, but not the flexibility. This past spring I started a therapy program through a chiropractor that has had really good results. I’m still a bit of a teeter-totter, but I’ve been able to take my own dogs for longer walks and the more I can walk, the more I strengthen the tendons. It’s been an extremely slow process and I’m not sure if I’ll ever be 100%, but it is progressing. Last summer I could walk one dog at a time just across the street to the park and back. This summer I can walk both dogs around the park.

This has kept me from fostering as I didn’t think I would be able to handle another dog, but I feel I’m strong enough again, finally, so I notified Mary, letting her know I was available for fostering. I’ve done some groups of puppies, waiting for transports and I hope to do that again, but I’m fully ready to take on real fosters.

Stay tuned!

One thought on “Hopefully fostering again soon

Leave a Reply

